Although work started in June 2014 it was on 15th August 2015 when Session had gathered all information, made Architectural and Consultancy Appointments, lodged and virtually reached a Congregation Appeal financial target, we managed to lodge our application to the Heritage Lottery Fund. That critical application was for financial assistance and support which, if successful, would enable us to proceed with the External Repair and Restoration of the fabric and heritage of St Michael’s Kirk.
We are grateful to The Heritage Lottery Fund, Historic Environment Scotland, The Musselburgh Common Good Fund, The Baird Trust and the Fergusson Bequest for their financial support, input, advice and assistance which enabled our iconic building to be repaired and restored and our heritage promoted. In addition the congregation and organizations of St Michael’s and St John’s are to be congratulated for their tremendous endeavour in supporting and attaining the targets set through the Congregational Appeal.
The practical completion certificate for the building work was issued on the 9th July 2018 which enabled the church to be completed in time for the Kirking Ceremony of the Honest Lad & Lass.
To many people they may observe little difference to the external fabric of the building apart from the external freshness. There has however been an incredible amount of hidden intricate high level work carried out to insure the building attained a high plateau of good repair preserving and guaranteeing the building for future generations. To give an insight into the construction work executed we have placed photos on the website to give a flavour of the high standard, skill and expertise of the restoration work carried out.
Please come and visit our church built in 1805. Why not take a tour, there are things to hear, things to see both inside and out which add to the history of our Town.